Wednesday, February 20, 2013

Eskisehir History

Before the discovery of fire, on the region beginning from Sakarya River extending to Porsuk River, there was fruitful and deserted land. After the discovery of fire, human beings had come and settled down on this fruitful land which is rich in mineral resources. Life began first in caves then lasted in towns with houses made of marble.

All this time passed by, man had arranged this region for living by cultivating this watery land and populated. However, those tribes living in unfruitful lands started to immigrate towards the region. Their aim was to share the land extending from Sakarya River to Porsuk River to build a common living there. People living peacefully in the region had met belligerence and war for the first time. Wars lasted for hundreds and thousands of years...
By the time, the world and the mankind had revolved and wars ended. Peace for the future was obtained. However, immigrants were allowed to use water and land only. In this existence struggle new opportunities created, discoveries exposed. Mine resource enriched, workshops and small factories were built and towns and villages were formed. As first human beings came and settled down that region and benefited from fruitful land and rich resources a very long time ago from now, the region developed to a city in a short time and called ESKISEHIR, which means old city in Turkish.
If you have traveled the wide area around Eskisehir, you would see some marks belong to antiquity period of mankind. Thousand of cultures had survived in Eskisehir region since Stone Age. Eskisehir was accepted to be most populated region in B.C. 4000’s. In researches done in the region old towns and cities are discovered. In addition, the region became a center to activate trade for merchants form Assure.
Eskisehir was inside the west border of Phrygia. Thus, Phrygian Age has importance in Eskisehir history.
The Richest King of All Ages
Hittites assembled a great government centralized in Eskisehir BC 14th century. The king of Phrygians declared his kingdom which lasted for 600 years in BC 12th century.
Who is the richest king of all ages?
Midas, the king of Phrygia... Midas was the king of the place today known as the center of Eskisehir. The first time Midas appeared in history was his sovereignty in Delhi Sanctuary in BC 700’s. Midas was married to the daughter of Agamemnon, the Greek king. He was charged for the management of trade in distant regions, thus, he became powerful and rich soon. He caught the spoils of Silenus (Step father of Bakus). Because of that he was punished by that “anything touched by him would turn to gold”. First time, he was happy with punishment but it did not last for so long. He had to face hunger since everything he touched turned to gold. However, the greatest sorrow he lived was the moment he hugged his daughter and she turned to a big golden pile. This event made him more aware of his horrible situation. He begged gods for help in regret. Dionysus, one of the gods who heard his begging let Midas to swim and sunbathe in Pantolus River that belonged to him to get rid of that curse. From that moment alluviums of Pantolus River turned to gold. However, in which part of the river Midas had bathe is unknown, not yet discovered. But King Midas had his place as the richest king of all ages in history...
There is another tale about Midas widespread through people: According to that tale, Midas was offered to be jury for the music contest in which God Apollo and Satyr Marsyas(Silenus) were contestants. Midas was continuously threatened by Satyr and Apollo. At the end of the contest, Midas gave his decision in a way like a judicious king had to be. As a result, Apollo lost the contest and became very angry and turned the ears of Midas into “donkey’s ears”. Midas hid his ears under a hat but his barber saw them at last. He promised to keep the secret on Midas’s request. However, he could not keep the secret, after sometime he shouted out it toward to marshes. As marshes swigged by the wind, “Midas’s ears are Donkey ears” voices were heard. Thus, everybody learned Midas’s secret. This tragedy had ended by Apollo’s forgiving Midas.
Gungor Dilmen, one of the writers of Modern Turkish Play, has dramatized this story and named the play as “Ears of Midas”. In addition, an operetta named “King Midas Opera” has been composed by Ferit Tuzun. King Midas is very famous in other countries as well as in Eskisehir region and Turkey.
Archeological researches showed that first settlement was populated around Sarhoyuk in BC  3500’s. In ages of Copper and Calcolitic (BC 3500-2500) the most populated areas were predicted to be shores of Porsuk-Seydi Su and Sarisu Streams. Traces found in Demirci Hoyuk shows that prehistoric settlement and culture around Eskisehir rose up in Early Calcolitic (BC 5500) Age. Many legends of Anadolu are evidences showing that Phrygia was center of mining. Further more, other excavations done in Midas city (Yazilikaya) hundreds of new tumulus were discovered and determined that the region had a widespread culture since antiquities.
Cultural certificates belonging to Hittites Age were found in most of the tumulus discovered in the excavations done in Yazilikaya. Phrygians who put an end to the sovereignty of Hittites and become spread in a wide area had established a kingdom involving Eskisehir Plain, Sakarya branches and west and east parts of Ankara region in 1200 BC. This kingdom whose center was Gordian, near Polatli, was known to have a powerful political structure. Pessinus (Ballihisar), Midaeum (Karahoyuk), Dorylaeum (Eskisehir), Yazilikaya (Midas) were cities which were built in that period inside the borders of Eskisehir province nowadays. The best known kings of Phrygian history were Gordian and Midas. King Midas, had established Phrygian Empire however, it lasted not so long (BC 725-675).
Kimmers, coming over Caucasus, put an end to Phrygian sovereignty in the fist half of 7th century. Those cities of Phrygian Age, were demolished and fired by Kimmer’s attacks, then went under sovereignty of Kroizos, king of Lydia, who increased his power. According to historians, Midas killed himself because he could not resist Kimmer’s attacks (BC 546-333).
After Great Iskender had come to Anatolia and won Gronikos War (BC 334), Phrygia went under his sovereignty. First, Iskender captured Pessinus and Gordion. By way, he bought Hellenism Age and culture to Phrygia at the same time. In addition, Greeks came and settled to Phrygia. In excavations done in Pessinus, temples dedicated to Phrygian Goddess Kibele, theaters and many architectural structures were found. The religion of Phrygians was bound to Goddess Kibele which is an ancient god.

After the death of Iskender the great, Galats made continuous raids on Phrygia. After that it passed to Romans’ control. The most glorious age was the years in which Romans had the control of Phrygia.
If you ever go to southwest of Eskisehir, you would reach to Midas city or YAZILIKAYA in today’s name. The remnants in that region would attract your interest and admiration in ancient civilizations.
Midas City: Yazilikaya
Yazilikaya is 80 km far from Eskisehir. One can reach the village from Cifteler County on southeast of Eskisehir. The road departure from here reaches to Yazilikaya through Mecidiye, Bardakci, Karagac and Kayi. Besides, one can go to Yazilikaya through the way Seyitgazi and Afyonkarahisar or Emirdag.
The height of Yazilikaya village is 1315 meters. There is Eskisehir city on the North, Kutahya on the West, Afyonkarahisar on the South, and Seyitgazi on the Northeast. The exact location is on “Phrygian Plateau”. Height can be as high as Turkmen Mountain in some places. Because of that altitude, air is rather clean and it was named as “Phrygia Salutaris” which means “Healthy Phrygia”.
Yazilikaya Village is located on the foot of Acropol. The great Midas Monument is perceived at the very first look. Midas Monument is extremely important especially for Phrygian history. However, the monument has not been mentioned much until 19th century. It was discovered by an English officer W.M. Leake passing by the region for the first time. He stated that he had seen monuments which carved on rock and had scripts on surface while he was traveling by Eskisehir to Seyitgazi and then to Husrev Pasa. Then he returned back to the monument and examined the scripts on the surface and when he saw the name “Midas” on inscriptions, he named the monument as “Midas’s Grave”. W. Leake published that trip notes in 1824. Charles Texier, who came after him, copied the surfaces of three rocks and inscriptions and published actual information about the subject. Researches done on archeological monuments in Anatolia had risen in second half of 19th century. Archeologist Radet, who come that region in 1886 and 1893, had discovered Yazilikaya Village settled down just bottom of Midas monument.
As it can be seen nowadays, there are Midas monument on an erupted rock, city wall surrounding Acropol, underground stairs, graves, altars and unfinished monuments and fountains in Northeast side of ancient city Acropol, just over Yazilikaya Village.
Midas monument is carved on tuff, covering an area of nearly 400 m2 with a rectangular shape and the surface is decorated with geometric meander motifs have Phrygian art features.
The monument reached undestroyed the present day, but there is a wide crack about 2 m at the frontal section.  In the middle of the monument is a recess (niche) with a measure of 5.5 m width and 1.44 m depth located on the surface axis. Therefore the indent in the middle of the monument is thought to be a monumental tomb. However, the size doesn’t resemble a grave. Like the other monuments in Phrygian, Midas monument was made to place there a Cybele (Mother Goddess) statue. Prof. A. Gabriel argued that most probably a bronze sculpture was placed there and fastened with metal holders to the rock. At later ages (Christian Era), this statue was stolen and there is no trace of it so far.Three inscriptions are located on to the monument which are currently unsolved.
Phrygian script on Yazilikaya resembles the old archaic Greek script which was left by Orekliler in BC 6th century.
Small Yazilikaya
There is another monument 210 meter far away from Midas monument on Southwest. Top of the monument is excavated; however bottom side is left without handwork. Small Yazilikaya Monument has many things in common with Midas Monument. The frontal of the monument is in good condition. It is decorated by motifs of pine cone and palmet. Its height is shorter than its width. At the bottom of the monument there are two indentations on which there are figures resembling animal heads.

Midas monument is about two hours away from Eskisehir city center. The mistry of the scripts is still not completely solved. Against all hard conditions researchers, archaeologists and excavation staff came to Yazilikaya and introduced this immortal work to the world with paintings, photographs and writings. One of the most sacred tasks of Eskisehir citizens is to take possession and maintain this great treasure.

There was a city well-known as “Dorylaeum” or “Dorylaion” in Greek in this region in antiquity. Nowadays, there are three places which are said to be Antique Dorylian in Eskisehir. One of the places is Karacasehir, other one is Sarhoyuk and Yukarimahalle, also known as Hamamlar or Koprubasi.
Karacasehir located 8 km southwest of Eskisehir, is on the right side of Porsuk creek. Sarhoyuk is at north of Eskisehir and rises in front of a grassy plain of mountain Bozdag up to 12 meters. The literal meaning of the word "Sar" is “city”.
The third place that we could call naked Eskisehir before industrialization, is the city located on both sides of Porsuk creek. This region was under the control of Byzantines in 395 century AD and was a populated city.
By the researches and investigations done at the end of 19th century, some inscriptions which include information about Dorylian and go back to 3rd century AD or i.e. from Augustus Age to Caracalla Age were found. One of the inscriptions has the name “Dorylaos from Erythrai” who was the founder of the city written on the sculpture base discovered in 1893 in Haci Mahmut Bey Han in Eskisehir. Another inscription found in Sarhoyuk was dedicated to “Akamantion Dorylaos from Herakles family”.
Akamas was the son of King Theseus in Greek Mythology. He was the founder of many cities in Anatolia especially in Phrygia. He was named as a hero.
According to the inscriptions in Dorylian, Dorylaos is given together with Akamas as the founder. These names which were mentioned on the inscriptions in 2nd century AD, divided the interpretations of the reseachers in some points. The most important interpretation is, that in Antonin Age, in Roman cities it was to maintain the old traditions of Helen’s and to mention the name of a legendary hero together with the city name in Greek epic poetry.
As present day in Roman Age, country name of a soldier was given on the certificate of discharge. So, soldier Attikos “Akamantia Doryeo” was from the city Dorylaion in Anatolia. This “Dobruca Certificate of Discharge” is a special document of archaeological researches, this shows how information can be obtained from everywhere and be combined with countries and ages.
According to the researches done in 1893, the most respectfully behaved and votive offered god was Zeus in the region (thundering Zeus). Foreign gods and goddess were “Jupiter Capitolnus” and documents written in his name were found. That the greatest God Inscription written belongs to Jews or Byzantines is not actually known.
In addition, there were documents found about Bennos, Phrygian religious associations in the region.
The region is an entertainment center with many famous Turkish baths and hot water resources taking away daily stress of people. You can get away from stresses and find a cure if you relax in these healing waters for a while. Moreover, with the hot water vapor you can inspire the memoirs of Byzantine Emperor who once took a bath in these healthy waters.
Who didn’t take a bath in these waters, either?.. Also Osman Bey, the leader of a little empire in 13th century, who opened a new page in history in Eskisehir and Anadolu, took a bath in these healthy waters. Especially in his period Eskisehir became a popular Anatolian town, an important settlement with its mineral waters and baths.  
Remains of Pessinus, the famous city of Antiquity, is in Ballihisar region, near Sivrihisar, on the highway Ankara-Eskisehir. The place where the famous template of Kibele “Mother of Gods” was located and known as Kubebe or Kubaba by Hittites belonged to Phrygia state. The sculpture of Mother God, according to some beliefs, was a black stone which had fallen from sky so it is also called as “Black Stone”.
Pessinus was the greatest trade center of its time. In this age, the priests were also rulers. Although Pessinus stayed alive as a trade center in following years, the priests’ authority declined quite a bit. Through history ages, Pessinus was occupied by Lydia and Pers forces like other Phrygian cities. Galats who occupied the region in Hellenism age made Pessinus their capital.
In Bergama Kingdom period, Pessinus which was an independent princedom ruled by priests, was damaged during Pun wars between Roma and Kartaca.
In 205 BC the Roman Senate used to recourse to Sibyl’s prophetic books to prognosticate the conclutions of Pun Wars. According the prophecy, to drive an enemy out of the Roman territory, the Mother Goddess Cybele had to be brought to Rome. So did the Roman Senate and brought the Mother Goddess to Rome by sending envoys to Attulus, the King of Pergamum. Mother Goddess was located to the Patinus Hill. After 12 years a special temple was built for her on this place. Moreover, every year on the sixth day of April a Phrygian goddess was taken around the city and alms were raised from the folk. Great victories against Kartacahlar were obtained in 204 BC. and with definitive victories war was terminated in 203 BC.
Pessinus lived its most glorious period during Bergama Kingdom. Also, temples and artworks reached to our time were done in the period.
Mother God Kibele
Mother God Kibele had taken her name from Kybelon Mountain. There are many legends about Mother God. One of them is as follows:

 “Mother Goddess fell in love with Ates or Attis, a young man who was pasturing his sheep. Attis sacrificed his sexual virility on a rock for the sake of Goddess and died. However, he returned to life in spring by tears of Kibele in spring. To keep this revival alive, Gallos, the priests of Pessinus Temple, castrated themselves and arranged a great ceremony. They brought a branch from the pine tree under which Atis sacrificed his sexual virility to the temple in March 22nd. All the coreligionists together with the priests beat their chest in sorrow and wounded themselves with pine cones. They turned around Galloslar Temple by music accompanying until they lost themselves. Sometimes one of them who became exulted cut his virility by stone knife and became Gallos who united with Mother Goddess. Suddenly, Chief priest “Archigallos” lighted up all lambs in March 25th. Attes had returned to life. All children and young girls wore white dresses. An enthusiastic celebration began.”
Magnificent Gordion
When going down Porsuk Creek toward South, Porsuk and Sakarya Rivers unites and then again depart from each other. The city at that point is “GORDION”.
Gordion was the capital of Phrygia State and is a magnificent station among the ruins on way called “Emperor Road”. This famous city links East and West, Persia and Mesopotamia. In addition, Gordion was the city where numerous tales about Great Alexander and Gordion King were told.
Due to the archeological excavations, Gordion, discovered at the end of B.C.3000 years, was one of the important cities of its time. Especially it lived its most glorious time during Phrygians were ruling.
During 600 years following Phrygian King, Gordion lived its worst time ever. Invasions and wars became intensive especially at the beginning of B.C. 18th Century. Kimmers, Lydians, and Perses and at last Great Alexander occupied the region respectively.
Great Alexander and his army, passing from Gordion 2300 years ago, conquered Asian way. Also young king, swinging his sword, challenged to Gordion King and wanted him to leave the management of city to him.
After the death of Great Alexander, city of Gordion had witnessed great wars. Location of city is the reason for that. Many commanders who wanted to control Anatolia tried to occupy Gordion city by their armies. Galats, after those Romans captured the region at the end of 189 BC. Especially Romans, restored Gordion city, provide the city old glorious days back. Gordion which survived as a small village for a long time, became soon a magnificent city.
Presently, Gordion is an emitting light of Anatolian history with its rich information sources amount the archeological heritage. In city center there are 80 graves which belong to Phrygian kings and family members of them. A depth of 53 m down to 300 m was reached during excavations of 25 tombs. One of the tombs is in a 140 m tunnel and it is supposed to be of King Midas.
When Roma parted into two regions in A.D.395, Phrygia remained in Byzantium region. Eskisehir and cities around lost their former importance in that period. Only Dorlion having hot spring resorts on the way of Pessinus trade road was able to stay alive. Arabian armies had invaded Byzantium lands, came the region near Eskisehir. In 708 Abbas Bin Velid and then in 778 Masan Bin Kataba occupied the region, respectively.
Byzantium-Arabian war, which lasted for 300 years beginning at the end of 7th century and continued until the end of 10th century, led to the creation of some legends and tales. The most important one of those legends is Seyit Battal Gazi legend. Seyit Battal Gazi legend was translated to “Digenis Aktiras” by Byzans.
According to the legend, Seyit Battal Gazi had lived at the age of Abbasi caliphs Mutasim and Vathig. However his birth was told to Hz. Muhammed by Cebrail before his death. For this reason one of the prophet’s men waited in a cave for 200 years. He fulfilled the prophet’s promise and gave Askar Divzade, the horse of Seyit Battal Gazi to himself.
According to another legend, the father of Seyit Battal Gazi was a commander in the army of Malatya Sultan. He died in a war against Greeks. Seyit Battal had learned all Islamic sciences when he was 13 years old. No one could compete with him in riding horse and using sword. He set out to take revenge of his father and he killed commander of hostile army, his brother and fourteen chief commanders within twenty-four hours. He traveled from India to Magrib, from one victory to another frightening his enemies far further the seven seas.
God had given supernatural forces to him. He had such a voice that seventy two thousand infidels fell into pieces in battlefield.
Rumour has it that, the daughter of a Greek castle’s commander fel in love with Seyit Battal. During the siege of that castle, while Battal was sleeping on grass, the daughter of commander saw aid sent by emperor to the castle. In order to awake Seyit Battal, she wrote note on paper and wrap up a stone with the paper and threw it to him. This little stone felt by chance to his heart and killed him immediately. In this accident God’s decree was proved. Otherwise, it is impossible that such a hero with supernatural powers to be beaten by his enemies.
In antiquity age Seyitgazi which was called as Nakoleia, was an important city for the time. However, in Christian Age the city lost his former power and bonded to Synnada Metropol Administration. In 198 it became Metropol again. After 9th century the name Napoleia was not seen. Seljuks, who spread Byzantium provinces, came to the borders of Phrygia in 1074. Then because of incursions one after another Napoleia lost its importance. It has been rumored that the Crusaders came to interior regions of Anatolia passing through Napoleia in 1079.
After Malazgirt Pitched Battle, Turks coming from east captured Eskisehir in 1074. After the city captured, Manuel Kommenos who wanted to stop Turkish tribes coming from east, withdrew to west as he became unsuccessful. Eskisehir became a location on the way of the Crusaders in Alparslan and I. Kilicarslan periods of ordering. There are not much traces belonging to this ages in Eskisehir city center.
Eskisehir region which was one of the centers of Ottoman Empire was on the way of militaries’ East expeditions. After Ertugrul Gazi died, his son Osman Bey took the control. After a while Osman Bey became governor, he became powerful and captured Eskisehir, Inonu, Seyitgazi, and Sivhisar, respectively. When Osman Bey was married with Sheikh Edebali’s daughter Malhatun, Eskisehir and its surroundings gained more strength. Osman Bey shared out the lands he gained in his healthy ages among his relatives. According to that, his brother Gunduzalp took the control of Eskisehir and surrounding area. Recent researches showed that the region Sultan-Oyugu Inonu belonged to Germians, out of Ottoman’s lands.
In 14th century, to the end of the period of Orhan Bey, Sultanonu was captured by Karamanogullari. During period of I. Murat, son of Orhan Bey, this region became a question of power among them. When I. Murat ascended the throne, he decided to organize a military expedition to Rumeli. Taking the advantage of the opportunity, Karamanogullari united their forces with Varsaks, Turguts, Turkmens and Sivas Governor against I. Murat. Sultan, having learned that plan, went back to Anatolia. He beat all of them and captured Ankara. While he was returning, he took Sultanonu in 1363 from Karamanogullari. Borders of Ottomans reached to Karamanogullari lands and at South to the North of Hamitogullari State. When Germian Governor’s daughter Devlet Hatun was married to Sultan’s son Bayezid in 1381, control of the Northwest part of Germian State was passed to Ottomans.
In early years of Ottoman State, names of Seyitgazi or Sivrihisar did not appear especially in entries about battles, because conquests were towards to Byzantium, Northwest for early years. Seyitgazi was pronounced to be an important center for Bektasizm for this period.
On the other hand, Sivrihisar was inside the borders of Karamanogullari State in first half of 14th century. It was added to Ottomans’ lands after the military expedition to Ankara by I. Murat.
While Ankara Battle in 1402, as Sultan Yildirim Bayezid was beaten by Timur Han, who was willing to end Ottomans’ sovereignty, gave Sivhisar and many other regions to Karamanogullari to strengthen other states. It is said that Timur had settled his headquarters in Sivrihisar for a while. After Yildirim Beyazid died, Sivrihisar had passed to Ottomans’ control again.
At the end of 15th century, the struggle among II. Bayezid and Cem Sultan had resulted in important events in Eskisehir, or i.e. Sultanonu region. Cem Sultan, who rushed into Bursa in 1481, beat Ayas Pasa’s army sent by II. Bayezid. After that II.Bayezid attacked to Bursa and beat Cem Sultan. Cem Sultan escaped to Eskisehir firstly and then went to Konya. He reached to Egypt in 1482.
In 16th century, Eskisehir gained importance according to its location. There is an interesting document that reached to us from Ottoman Empire in 16th century. The document includes pictures of miniature art, belonging to different centers of population, by Matrakci(Swordsman) Nasuh. He had participated Iran military expedition with Kanuni Sultan Suleyman.
In that age, talents about geometry, mathematics, history, military, battle tactics was called as “MATRAK”. His works left to present time are two books of mathematics, six books of history one of which is a translation about battle and army. In his books, there are also miniature pictures demonstrating Ottoman Army and battle strategies he told about.
Until early years of Faith’s governance, Eskisehir was a village under the control of Ankara State and then Kutahya State for 1451-1831. Eskisehir was governed by colonels between years 1451-1831 and then became a city bounded to “Hudavendigar” (Bursa) State in 1841. Eskisehir won its own identity as a province merely in 1925.
Eskisehir public started to feel the movement especially in economy created by railways in new age. The advantage of carriage of agricultural products and other raw materials had arisen. In addition beginning with the construction of railway here, new work places were opened. The population of Eskisehir had risen by immigrants in early 20th century and the appearance and social structure of the city had changed. After the great fire happened in Asagi District in 1905, marketplace and its surround burned out ad the city had to be reconstructed.
In the National Struggle years, Eskisehir remained for a long time on the agenda topic. Eskisehir became more important for its strategic location where Istanbul is connected to Anatolia with the railway, the role in internal studies, the transition threshold to Central Anatolia because the Greek Army invaded Anatolia and its contributions to the establishment of the new state.
The Sivas Congress (September 4 th, 1919) was gathered under the chairmanship of Mustafa Kemal Pasha and the participators from Eskisehir were Siyahizade Halil Ibrahim Efendi, Bayraktarzade Hussein Bey and Husrev Sami Bey.
Mustafa Kemal Pasha and his friends decided to hold a meeting in Eskisehir. But Entente States prohibited the use of the Eskisehir-Ankara railway line, the meeting was therefore realized in Ankara. In his famous oration, Ataturk mentions that during the War of Independence a British Battalion with 520 soldiers and another detachment with 100 soldiers was sent to Eskisehir. These forces settled around the railway station in Eskisehir.
The Greeks who landed on 15 May 1919 in Izmir moved ahead on the line Menderes, Salihli, Akhisar and Ayvalik in a short time. The Greek Forces were also supported by the British General Milne and his forces in Istanbul. Apparently, British General Milne forbade both sides the attack. Nevertheless, the Greeks attacked and invaded on 22 June 1920 Bursa, Usak, Alasehir and Nazilli.
In Inonu 40 km away from Eskisehir, the First and Second Inonu Battles were done in the year 1921. For the Greeks, because of its strategic location, Eskisehir was extremely important to be kept in hand. Therefore, the First and Second Inonu Battles and Kutahya- Eskisehir Battle three of the five battles of the Turkish-Greek war were performed in Eskisehir.
At the end of the Eskisehir-Kutahya battles the Turkish Army retreated to the east of Sakarya. The Greeks attacked again on 23 August 1921. The enemy's army took the heaviest defeat and began to retreat on 30 August 1921. On 2 September 1922, the Turkish cavalry came from Seyitgazi, moved ahead from Tekkeonu to Eskisehir and expelled the enemy forces from Eskisehir. Before the Republican period, after the interruption of the first part of the Lausanne Conference meetings, Ismet Pasha and his delegation met with Mustafa Kemal Pasha in Eskisehir. Later, after the declaration of the Republic, Mustafa Kemal Pasha came from the country trips by train to Eskisehir. He was met by the people with a great enthusiasm. When Ataturk came again to Eskisehir on 6 August 1929, he met with the members of the Court of Appeal and journalists who welcomed him at the Eskisehir railway station and gave a statement. On his native country trip on 16 January 1933, he visited Eskisehir, entered to the lessons in a high school and made a speech in the People's House. On 21 June 1934, Ataturk came along with the Shah of Iran Reza Pehlevi to Eskisehir, visited the "Ataturk Airport" and watched the air maneuvers.
Ataturk came by train to Eskisehir on the dates 8 June 1936, 6 January 1937, 4 June 1937 and 20 November 1937, made interviews at the railway station and meetings in the city. His latest visit to Eskisehir was on 21 January 1938. He talked three hours long with the peoples who welcomed him at the railway station. Meanwhile, when he heard that the "Kalabak" water which at his request was brought to Eskisehir, wanted to be called "Water of Ataturk", he said: "I have never claimed for the request to be the owner of a blessing that the nature has given."
On his country trips, Ataturk came most to Eskisehir after Istanbul, asked for their problems and made meetings.
Dates in order of Ataturks’ arrival in Eskisehir:
1. 21 June 1920 - 22 June 1920
2. 28 July 1920
3. 27 August 1920 - 28 August 1920
4. 04 December 1920 - 05 December 1920
5. 11 February 1921 - 13 February 1921
6. 02 May 1921 - 03 May 1921
7. 15 January 1923
8. 19 February 1923 - 20 February 1923
9. 24 March 1924
10. 30 August 1924
11. 21 September 1925
12. 05-06 August 1929
13. 20-21 July 1931
14. 16 January 1933
15. 16 April 1934
16. 21 June 1934
17. 08 June 1936
18. 06 January 1937
19. 09 January 1937
20. 04 June 1937
21. 20 November 1937
22. 20 January 1938 (Kalabak)

Eskisehir was re-established after the war and a new city was created from the war ruins. After the days of the occupation, first regularities were made in the field of economics. The "Granary Exchange" and the "Eskisehir Commerce of Chamber” were founded on 31 December 1925. In year 1894, the "Locomotive and Wagon Repair Workshop" and its "Apprentice School" started working and was a leader in training qualified workers. In addition, the "Aircraft Maintenance Warehouse" was established in 1926. These organizations had offered new work places to the citizens of Eskisehir. Traction and repair workshops were transferred to TCDD (Turkish Republic State Railways) in 1924.The "Eskisehir Farmers Bank” was established in 1918.
In the early years of the Republic researches in industry, agriculture and natural resource gained speed. During these years, researches related to flour, brick, tile and timber industries were also started. The "Kurt Tile Factory" and the "Arslan Tile Factory" were established in Eskisehir, in 1927. Even other factories were established in this region, in a very short time because of the great success of these two factories.  
After the first move in 1927, pots and pan industry was rapidly growing in Eskisehir. Today, twelve modern enterprises and some members of the Eskisehir Chamber of Commerce are supporting the production of tile, brick and hot brick. A large part of the requested earthenware in Turkey is supplied by Eskisehir and a little part is exported. The development of industry continued with the support of bank credit to the Cement Factory, which was established in 1953."Eston Inc." was established in 1965, it provides furthermore important services in prefabricated structure sector. In Anatolia produced porcelain and ceramics was beside Eskisehir a thriving branch of industry as well as for Bursa, Bilecik and Kutahya.
In grain production, Eskisehir is all time one of the cities sharing the first place. White wheat used for bread production and barley in the brewery, is grown in this region. Since the second half of the19 th century, after the fall of the Russian Tsardom, Tatars from the Crimea and Central Asia, contributed to developments in the field of agriculture. Eskisehir Sugar Factory was established even sugar beet was not planted. Since 1933, the incomes of the villages have been increased because sugar beet planting got an important place in irrigated agriculture.
In 1940, Eskisehir was Turkey's sixth biggest city. With the rising population, house construction had shown a big increase. The city center was constantly expanding to the north. In this period, Seker Quarter and Yeni Quarter were found in the East. Odunpazari and Yukari Quarter were no more a center. In Asagi Quarter, on both sides of Hamam Street, behind the poplar and willow trees which are along the Porsuk creek is Bahcelievler. In this period Koprubasi Street was an outstanding place with new opened shops. The city's entertainment and promenades were at Yalaman Adasi and Suboyu.
In Eskisehir, beside the industrial developments, the technological development was added in the 1940s. Before President Cemal Gursel’s arrival in Eskisehir for the anniversary celebrations of the Republic of Turkey on 29 October 1961, the first car was produced on that date for the President and presented to him.
In those workshops, the parts forming the body of the car were produced at first, then the trunk and other parts. The body was shaped with metal plates. They worked for days on it and a brand new car was created. This car was named "Devrim"(Revolution). At its first presentation (29 October 1961), Devrim was used by President Cemal Gursel.
Devrim was the first experience and the first step in automobile manufacturing. This was apparently a symbolic work. However, it was an indication of possibilities, what in Turkey's industrial sector can be done. After this first step, a few years later production of a car called "Anadol” get started.
In the newspapers on 29 October 1961, were these following headings: "The first Turkish automobile Devrim was on the road and it stopped after twenty paces."
This title was followed by the phrase of the first visitor President Cemal Gursel:
"Turk produces a car, but forgets to fill the tank."
Today, Devrim stands quiet and retiring but the industry of Eskisehir is ceaselessly developing.

Empire signed Mondros Armistice with the Allies in October 30th 1918 when the Ottoman Empire was defeated in the First World War. Due to the 7th term of the armistice which was a provision that the occupying powers might occupy areas deemed to be of strategic importance; English arms started therefore to occupy strategic regions and railway routes, claiming that their security was threatened. They confiscated railways. English Arms took the control of the stations beginning from Haydarpasa, going to Izmit, Eskisehir and Ankara respectively. They located a set of Scottish soldiers in Eskisehir. Two squadrons of Scottish soldiers which were controlled by Misler Vi-tool and captain Forbin, were located in Ankara train station. French army sent a detachment under the command of Commander Buazo. These two important cities were occupied. Both cities' governors were loyal to the Sultan. Ali Fuat Pasha (Cebesoy) who attended to twentieth army corps as commander was successful in preparation of an organized regiment immediately. Ataturk came to Ankara after the war in December 27th 1919. He was to go to Eskisehir to talk to the members of Istanbul Deputy Assembly.

Rifat Borekci, Mufti of Ankara told to Atataturk: “- My lord, don’t go to Eskisehir, there are English forces there. They may arrest you. We took an oath to protect you...” Ataturk abandoned going to Eskisehir and stayed in Ankara. The headquarters of Representatives Committee came Ankara. At this time, English arms occupied Istanbul officially in March 16th 1920. They attacked to Sehzadebasi Police Station and six Turkish soldiers were killed and also fifteen Turkish soldiers were wounded. After that English forces secretly left Ankara at night and went to Eskisehir. Ataturk was to open Turkish Grand National Assembly. While all that events were taking place in Ankara, Eskisehir was occupied by English forces. They were holding that railway junction in control. As the commander of twentieth army corps, Ali Fuat Pasha, had accepted Ataturk with a Seymen regiment by public demonstration; Istanbul government denounced his duty, sentenced him with execution and then appointed Kirazli Hamdi Pasha as the commander of twentieth army crops instead. Kiraz Hamdi Pasha came to Eskisehir and cooperated with English forces. Soon he was executed in Ankara. Eskisehir Governor was Serez’i Hilmi Bey but he was not liked by public in Eskisehir. Greeks and Armenian were acting cruel to Muslims but Governor Hilmi was not interested with requests and complaints of public. One of the members of Kuvayi Milliye(National Forces) came to city and shot him. Eskisehir was in agitation, letters were sent to English forces telling them to leave the city. There were English soldiers more than a battalion with Legion soldiers formed by Turks living in Cyprus. A man named Kemal was working as translator.

The Mayor of Eskisehir was Lawyer Takyeddin Bey in 1920. He was educated and a patriotic man. When Seyh Sunusi came to Eskisehir, he stayed in his house. Accountant Sabri Bey and Takyeddin Bey were supporting Kuvayi Milliye(National Forces). Recognizing the situation, Kiraz Hamdi Pasha escaped to Istanbul. Yesil Efendi established Mudafaai Hukuk Cemiyeti (Association for Defense of National Rights). Emin Sazak, Osman Isik from Eskisehir joined to that association. Wealthy persons of Eskisehir donated gold on their will to this association without any deed and left the money to the liberation of the motherland. The association gave 30 liras to each one who joined to Kuvayi Milliye(National Forces) and provided guns and horses to them. One day these militia rebels made demonstration in the city center. Everyone was dressed strangely, wearing different guns and hats. They wander around the districts, threatening English soldiers and honoring Turkish public.

After a while, the rumor spread that the Red Army was coming from Caucasus. The next news was that they were in Erzurum and a little while later in Ankara. At least, red army soldiers passed one morning through the streets of Eskisehir wearing a fur cap, red attire, two rows of shotgun shells on the chest and a riffle in the hands. To give a crowded look, they passed the same streets again and again. Later, a guerrilla of comrades was put together. Their password was “half a loaf of bread for you and a half for me”. The Greeks opened the Miler line and were ready to make a military operation over Balikesir and Bursa. Aydin warriors and forces of Cerkez Etem in Salihli were encountering with the enemy.

It was required to drive out the British forces from Eskisehir. Ali Fuat Pasha(Cebesoy) undertook this task and reached Eskisehir in 1920 with the 189 th infantry regiment and the Mountain Battalion of the 24 th division. Concurrently guerrillas of Ankara warriors moved to Eskisehir.

These forces infested the hills of Eskisehir. Ali Fuat Pasha located stovepipes on the hills to give a strong artillery effect. From far, it was thought that a lot of cannons were placed on all hills. The patriotic descents of Eskisehir were so pleased.

He shared with the folk that:

- A rumor was spread out: “the green army is in Eskisehir”. On the existence of the cannons on all hills, the

British army thought the green army is really in. Without any resistance, they forced their whole army to retract. Very next day 189th infantry regiment came to Eskisehir. Folk applauded the National Force with tears of joy. A new governor is nominated. Young men joined immediately to Kuvayi Milliye(National Forces). British forces destroyed Geyve Bridge during the escape from Eskisehir. Yarbay Akif Bey is appointed as the station commander in Eskisehir and Haci Huseyin Bey as the new chief police.

Meantime Colak Ismail Hakki bey constitute a legion in Kutahya. Halil Nuri Yurdakul formed a janissary band of musicians, constitute a battalion named “Azmi Millî” and opened a museum in Eskisehir. This phrase is on his flag written: “Muslims, these days are the doomsday you are waiting for, incorporate and survive. July 2nd, 1920” Ali Fuat Pasha was appointed as the “Western Front Commander”.

Ali Fuat Pasha and his forces held the hills of Geyve Strait and entered into war with British and Rum guerillas. Meanwhile Colonel Mahmut Bey was martyred by rebels in Duzce. Mustafa Kemal Pasha (Ataturk) came to Eskisehir and analyzed the front before a move against the enemy has been getting started. Ataturk stayed in a building located at the station.

The major force called “Kuvayi Seyyare” was under the conduct of Cerkez Ethem. He came very often to Eskisehir. Ethem spoiled totally when he quashed the Duzce and Yozgat riots. He became disobedient to the orders. Ethem’s opinion was that hometown could be rescued by only National Forces and not by the standing army. Soviet Russia wanted this, too. Cerkes Ethem published with the help of author Arif Oruc a newspaper called “The New World Planet”(Yeni Dunya Seyyare) to fulfill his greatest wish. This Newspaper was published in Eskisehir, in the grain marketplace at Tahir Bey’s press, and the authors were Celal and Alaaddin. It was Green Army’s association and was at the side of communist revolution. At that time “Turkish Communist Party” and “The People's Communist Party” was founded in Ankara. Besides was the Green Army Association but it couldn’t retaliate with the Red Army. Finally Ataturk closed all these parties. The printing machines of “The New World” were transferred to Ankara and given to the newspaper “National Sovereignty” (Hakimiyeti Milliye). Ethem was revolted and crossed over to the Greeks when Colonel Ismet Bey was appointed as the new “Western Front Commander”. With the Greeks, First and Second Inonu Battles were made. Hereafter Greeks defeated our army in Kutahya. Turkish Army retreated to the Sakarya line. But the Greeks occupied Eskisehir in 1921. King Konstantin came to Eskisehir.Eskisehir remained occupied until the great victory but was burned by the Greeks during their escape. As an activity center in the national struggle years, Eskisehir has a grand place in our national history.

Eskisehir pertained deservedly to its country. Today, Eskisehir is one of the developed metropolitan cities in the country.
Enver Behnan SAPOLYO Tourism Magazine
Eskisehir Special Edition 1967
Year: 10
Volume: 10

No comments:

Post a Comment